Rush - Presto
Atlantic  (1989)
Prog-Rock/ Art Rock

In Collection

Tape    11 tracks  (52:10) 
   01   Show Don't Tell             05:01
   02   Chain Lightning             04:33
   03   The Pass             04:50
   04   War Paint             05:24
   05   Scars             04:07
   06   Presto             05:46
   07   Superconductor             04:47
   08   Anagram (For Mongo)             03:59
   09   Red Tide             04:30
   10   Hand Over Fist             04:11
   11   Available Light             05:02
Personal Details
Purchase Date 14.12.1994
Date of US Release November 1989 After being slagged off for the electronic ambience of its predecessor releases such as 1985's Power Windows and 1984's Grace Under Pressure, Rush bounces back with their 13th release, Presto. Yet again the prog-rock trio proves that their tight guitar work and lyrical originality is not long lost or overlooked in an attempt to secure the latest technical flash. Rupert Hine's production work totally brings things to the forefront by molding solid piano breaks instead of the typical adventure-like synthesizers into Alex Lifeson's spellbinding guitar work. The sound quality is strong and thick, making the sounds of Presto complete. Neil Peart also makes headway with his natural percussion power, and Geddy Lee's trademark lyrical complexities shine like signature Rush perfectionism. Songs like "Scars" and "Superconductor" are sonically firm, but "Show Don't Tell" is the album's infectious standout that's heightened thanks to Lee's stunning vocal wizardry. Presto intelligently leads Rush into the '90s without musical bleakness. They weren't ones to be blinded by such creative mediocrity anyway. © 1989 Atlantic Recording Corporation and Anthem Entertainment Music by Lee and Lifeson Lyrics by Peart Produced by Rupert Hine and Rush Engineered by Stephen W. Taylor Arrangements by Rush and Rupert Hine Recorded June - August 1989 Le Studio, Moring Heeights, assisted by Simon Pressey and Jacques Deveau McClear Place, Toronton, assisted by Rick Anderson Mixed September 1989 at Metropolis, London, assisted by Matt Howe Additional keyboards by Rupert Howe and Jason Sniderman Additional background vocals by Rupert Hine Preproduction work at Chalet Studio, engineered by Lerxst, assisted by Everett Ravenstein Technical support from Liam Birt, Jack Secret, Jim Johnson, Larry Allen, and Jim Burgess, with continuing thanks to Herns, Skip, Nick, Whitey, Schatzie... and the rest. Mastered by Bob Ludwig, Masterdisk NYC Brought to you by the letter "D" We appreciate technical contributions from Saved By Technology, Wal Basses, Signature Guitars, Ludwig Drums, Avedis Zildjian Cymbals, Solid Percussion, and - The Omega Concern.